Governing Body

Our Governing Body meets regularly to oversee the management of the school and to help determine its strategic development. Amongst its responsibilities are curriculum, staffing, premises, finances, health and safety and admissions. Four Governors are appointed by Devon County Council, six are elected by parents, two are elected by the teaching staff, one by the non-teaching staff and four are appointed as community governors.




Name Type of Governor Appointing Body Office Term Committee(s) Registered interests
Kerry Bargewell Head of School Governing Board 06/09/21-05/09/25 None
Stuart Borthwick Parent Elected by parents Chair – Res. 22/9/18-21/9/22 Resources Westcountry Website Co.   Self-employed
Kate Brimacombe Parent Elected by parents Chair – T&L 14/5/19-13/6/23 Teaching & Learning SW Region D, Local Leader of Governance / Teaching Schools Council SW
Naomi Ellis Parent Elected by parents 22/9/18-21/9/22 Teaching & Learning None
David Johns Co-opted Governing Board Vice-Chair 15/6/19-14/6/23 T&L  +   Resources Babcock (not education division)
Kerri Petch Local Auth. Governing Board 18/6/20-17/6/24
Jonathan Quinn Co-Opted Governing Board 03/03/21-02/03/25 Resources None
Susan Walton Co-opted Governing Board Chair 7/7/20-6/7/24 Resources None
Jo Whitney Staff Elected by staff 15/10/20-14/10/24 Teaching & Learning None
Cameron Woodrow Parent Elected by Parents 14/6/19-13/6/23 Resources None
Ed Persse Assoc. Member Governing Board 18/7/19-17/7/23


Resources (non-voting) EDJP Planning – director
Nicola Bench Assoc. Member Governing Board 18/6/20-17/6/24 T&L (non-voting)
Jane Byrne Assoc. Member Governing Board 08/12/20-07/12/24 T&L (non-voting)


Governor/s who have left during past 12 months

Caroline Hay Co-opted Governing Board 01/09/17-31/08/21
David Anning Partnership Governing Board 20/12/18-April 2021 (Resigned  = other work commitments) Trustee of Tavistock Hockey Club (registered charity)
Kate Sainsbury Co-Opted Governing Board 12/7/17 – April 21 (resigned – other commitments)
Sue Ord Partnership Governing Board 20/12/18-19/12/22 Resources – none

NB   Composition of Governing Body is 15, which equals 12 as above plus 2x Co-opted vacancy and a statutory vacancy for the Headteacher.  (Hannah Down chooses not to be a governor.)

Attendance at Governing Body meetings 2021-22 updated October 2021



Full Governing Body Teaching & Learning Resources
Possible Attended Possible Attended Possible Attended
Kerry Bargewell 1 1 N/A N/A 1 1
Stuart Borthwick 1 1 N/A N/A 1 1
Kate Brimacombe 1 1 1 1 N/A N/A
Naomi Ellis 1 1 1 1 N/A N/A
Dave Johns
1 0(u) 1 0 (u) 1 o (u)
Kerri Petch 1 1 1 1 n/a n/a
Jonathan Quinn 1 1 n/a n/a 1 1
Susan Walton (Chair) 1 1 n/a n/a 1 1
Cameron Woodrow 1 1 n/a n/a 1 1
Jo Whitney 1 1 1 1 n/a n/a


*  Reasons for absence

W = work commitments         F = family commitments         O = other (sickness, holiday etc)

U = reason not known

Shaded boxes = not members of that committee


#Joined Dec 2020

## Left Governing Board in September 2020

###Observed then joined March 21
####Joined in October 2020